Exploring Pride Month Together

I’m not part of the LGBTQ+ community, I’m only an ally. What you can expect from me is not to be informed, but to accompany me on this journey towards better understanding.


It’s common knowledge that June is Pride Month – a month in which the members of this community celebrate their pride and commemorate who fought for their rights.
Unfortunately, we can’t say that this fight already reached its end – esclusion, discrimination, violence are all a daily dark recurrence. LGBTQ+ people are nine times more likely to be victims of violent hate crimes, compared to non-LGBTQ+ people (The Williams Institute, December 2022).

One thing you can do is getting informed – ignorance ignites fear, and fear erupts in violence. Ignorance is also a poweful tool in the hands of opposition. Stirring masses is easier, when they don’t know a topic.

Another important way to back the community up is becoming an ally – a supporter of the LGBTQ+ community (with their permission). Speaking up is an effective way to remind them that they’re not alone, their rights are important, and their voices are heard.

So this month I’d like to share some books I’m currently reading to learn more about this social issue, starting with a general overview.

Title: The LGBTQ+ History Book
Author: DK Publishing
Year: 2023
Pages: 336
Rating: ★★★★☆

Cover of the book "The LGBTQ+ History Book" by DK



Keeping in mind it was my first book on the subject, I found it well done.

Historically, it ranges from the earliest evidence for LGBTQ+ people (although we can’t call them with modern terms today, for the different understanding they had of it), to the modern era. It can be read either from beginning to end, or jumping according to one’s preferences – there is a list of related chapters at the end of each one of them. This makes for a dinamic and personalized experience, without losing yourself in the content of the book.

The forementioned content is a lot (and I mean: A LOT) without being overwhelming. I had to take some breaks from time to time, but it’s due to how informative this book is – rarely a defect.

The other reason I had to take breaks was the punch in the guts that hits you in some parts. It’s amazing (and I don’t mean in a positive way) how you simply knew but never fully realized how dark the times the LGBTQ+ community had to go through really were, not being part of it. And I was so pissed to learn that some knowledge was willfully kept from me at school, for whatever reason.

I would suggest this book to anybody wanting to know more, but I would also probably suggest it to newbies particularly, to get a general idea. Just take the time it needs!

Fist raised on a rainbow background.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started